I saw a good Movie – and a bad one, too.

As I have written many times here already, I don’t all too often actually watch movies on TV and prefer to get them on DVD or whatever. Depending on price and priority that can take a while and so sometimes a good movie slips past my net. Margin Call is one of those. It’s a fantastic ensemble piece with some top actors and feels almost like a theatrical play, since everything happens more or less in a very limited set of locations, most of them being office rooms. Understandably it didn’t make much of an impact at the box office not only because it was released in a very limited fashion, but just the way it works. I admit that this would be stressful to watch at a cinema, but it’s just the right kind of thing to enjoy on TV and has enough substance to warrant a re-watch every now and then. I’ll have to see if I can pick it up somewhere from a budget tray…

On the other hand there are movies that despite their commercial success are just plain awful. Yepp, I watched Star Trek into Darkness a second time the other day and man does it blow balls. Apart from the first half hour or so it’s a complete mess. There’s a pointless fight scene every five minutes and the plot is as thin as watery snot in winter. Mr. Abrams seriously got it wrong and I’m already dreading what the announced third part may bring now that it has been handed down to Mr. Orci. Next thing they’ll do is ask some school writers’ club to do these films…