Big Brother Hurt

As far as coincidences go, this one is slightly creepy, I must admit. There I was, writing a rant about a certain book, including some remarks about its not so great movie adaptation and two days later the sad news of John Hurt‘s passing hits us. funny enough, if you had asked me his name and in which movies he actually had parts, beyond 1984 I would have struggled to come up with anything, but of course he also played the commander in Alien and his regal-looking face popped up in a lot of other movies, if mostly only for short appearances. Sifting through his filmography is a stunning revelation and then I go “Yes, of course, that guy!” from King Ralph to his Big-Brother-ish impression on V for Vendetta. See the connection? Weird! ;-)

