Rainbow Stars & Stripes

While I have my reservations about some constitutional freedoms guaranteed by the U.S. Bill of Rights and I also take a dim view on the over-complicated, overboarding legal system over there, amazingly on a simplistic level it can be advantageous sometimes as recent Supreme Court ruling about any laws that prohibit same sex marriage are discriminatory and thus not legal. Now I don’t want to pee on anyone’s parade and it is indeed a big step, but the many exuberant celebrations everywhere are perhaps are a bit premature in light of everyday discrimination still being widespread. This will take time before anyone will consider it “normal”, though I suppose it would make good material for that Queer as Folk follow-up series, if there ever will be one…

