Züri, i spür di…

That, my friends is a crude approximation of what “Zürich, I feel you…” might sound in Schwyzerdütsch – yes that language that sounds a bit like German, but not quite, and is intermingled with pieces of Italian, French, Rätho-Roman (a regional Swiss language) and some other ingredients.

The last few days I had some trials for a potential job position at some super-secret compound which due to ongoing stuff behind the scenes I’m not going to disclose just yet in exactly that city. Amazing how a job search can take you to places that you only heard about from others and always stayed away for the cost involved! Yepp, unfortunately  it’s not just rumours, but Switzerland is not cheap to live in and even more so in a booming town like Zürich with exploding cost for rental flats and a few other things. This is even more extreme for a guy like me who lives in the rural area near Leipzig where affordable accommodation isn’t an issue.

That aside the city is quite nice and definitely worth a visit. There’s some interesting old architecture, a lot of interesting design and art stuff to explore as well as some more off-mainstream and alternative places to go to. I didn’t have much time to dive into it, but just looking up a few tips I got from the locals on the web brought up some good ideas for a next visit – whenever that may be. If things work out it could be soon-ish, if not it could be never.

The Swiss people are nice and open-minded, yet at the same time pretty patriotic (in an oddly charming and cute way) and protective of their traditions. I made a bit of a fool of myself poking a joke at their language on the first day and got some scornful glances for it. *ouch* In the end it’s probably simply a matter of getting used to that different view of the world. I suppose after living there for a while even I’d be more focused on their politics than what happens in Germany…

One of the things I took away from my stint – and many people are going to hate me for saying this – is something that despite my only sporadic contact with the Mac world and mostly only reading a lot of complaints on forums I always suspected: Somehow the Mac world just isn’t what it used to be. I still love my old MacBook Pro (though these days for me  it’s mostly a heavy DVD-Player made of solid aluminium), but somewhere on the way to 10.9  Apple definitely screwed up OS X and Adobe doesn’t seem to have a handle on it, either. There’s just so many quirks and tiny annoyances and my ineptitude at using Mac keyboards and shortcuts didn’t make things easier, too…

