Trees:Subdivided

Prepping for a planned rehab can be quite stressful, I can tell you that. Collecting all the medical paperwork from your doctors, packing your bags and a million other tiny things can be quite a burden when you still have just as many things to tie up with projects at work. Now I’m sitting here waiting for my luggage to be picked up by the door-to-door service…

While I’ve been busy and barely had time to work on my own stuff, elsewhere of course the world keeps on turning and after some vague leaked info 2 or 3 weeks ago, the new version of SpeedTree is now officially a go. In particular being able to generate the trees as Subdivision surfaces will be great, not only eliminating potential seam blending issues, but also allowing to use sub-pixel displacements for detailed bark and such. The animated growth and seasonal changes also look pretty awesome, though at a price point of 5000 bucks for the Cinema version very few people will ever get to use it, I suppose. Not necessarily the end of the world, as most architectural visualizations and similar stuff will not need it, but it’s one of those things that tingle my geek nerve and I would just love to toy around with it one of those days. There’s already some thread on the The Foundry/ Luxology forum discussing some of the new features and how to best use them.

A fellow plant-crafter also apprised me of his website. While it doesn’t have much in the way of downloadable plants or such, it explains some theoretical stuff, has a few tips for The Plant Factory and lists pretty much every plant generating tool or plug-in that exists/ ever existed. Worth checking out if only for a bit of diversion…

