Halloween Horrors

Halloween is one of those days of the year I can’t quite wrap my head around. Until a decade ago nobody here in these parts made anything of it (despite the day already being an official holiday in remembrance Luther‘s reformation), but in recent years it has become quite a trend. The thing is I don’t exactly hate it, because if I had a handful of little kids around me it would be wonderful to throw them a costume party and walk around the block with them, collecting sweets, but on the other hand it’s so annoyingly commercial. Mmh… Anyway, in preparation I actually had stockpiled some chocolate to give away, but it looks like I’m going to have to eat it all alone because none of the little ones showed up! At least today I was able to spread some happiness by giving my share of cookies to Tim and Niklas. With my rehab by the sea only 2 weeks a way I had to schedule my annual cookie marathon a bit earlier this year, so I guess they were a bit more surprised than usual.

Elsewhere Adobe scared up their latest updates for After Effects and Premiere Pro barely in time to fulfill their October release announcement. That in itself is kinda creepy and of course drags along further terrifying things such as the much dreaded install procedures. I really think I’m just one inch short of joining the dark side and declaring Creative Cloud a piece of shit – not for the idea behind it, but for it’s many still unresolved technical issues. That and of course the potential for new bugs and issues with every new of the more frequent updates now… Mr. Kopriva is already again doing what I lovingly will call shit patrol from here on, explaining and rationalizing all the new quirks like changed requirements for the raytrace 3D stuff. Makes you wish they rather had buried it completely for good…

In other update news, Luxology/ The Foundry have released modo 701 SP3. These service pack releases are kinda odd and I usually don’t get too much out of it, but at least they are considerably less obtrusive and worrysome. NewTek also ships Lightwave 11.6. As previously written, makes me wish I had jumped the chance and gotten that upgrade special, even more so since just this week I found myself cursing Cinema 4D‘s mediocre renderer once again… And finally, Houdini 13 is also out. It’s still out of my reach financially, but I’m mentioning it here since coincidentally the other day I was pondering why this finite element fracture stuff isn’t yet to be found in any 3D program and everyone is still hacking around with arbitrary Voronoi or other fracture patterns…

