One Night, One Drop

As inhabitants of the “civilized” parts of the world it’s easy to forget that not everyone is as privileged as we are and while I’m trying to live by certain standards and not waste too many resources and keep the environment intact, even I occasionally feel bad about flushing the toilet or going for a swim in my bathtub when I know that somewhere in South America, Africa or Asia those hundreds of  litres of water a year I use up myself could keep an entire village population healthy and their crops from falling dry. Now I’m not going to pretend that I’m trying to safe the world and spend hundreds of Euros every month on environmental projects, but for a while I even was a member of the WWF and within what my bank account allows me, I do the occasional donation. That’s even easier when you get something nice and unique in return and as someone who is a sucker for the Cirque du Soleil, ponying up 5 Euros for their One Night, One Drop event seemed only reasonable. Think what you will of the shows and you can even hate on Guy Laliberté for spending 23 Million on a space trip, but he certainly cares for the planet with his One Drop foundation. It’s also a nice to see the Cirque adding other activities to their creative portfolio. I already like how they used the music from the now unfortunately dead Zed and the whole thing is running on the stage where they normally show «O». That shall be interesting. I just hope I get to enjoy it and the stream is not continually stuttering on my crappy connection here…

