Totally blocked out!

It’s always the same story: I get enticed by something I see elsewhere, then add it to my “list of things you always wanted to do, but never got around to it” and either I completely forget about it because I’m too busy with other stuff or immediately begin to work on it. In the latter case I then actually quite quickly figure out how to do it in most cases, but then my own sense of perfection gets in the way or I have too much fun and too many crazy ideas that inflate what was meant to be a quick weekend project into something that keeps me busy for weeks. So it has happened for my own little city pack Les Blocs, but now at last it is here. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves. If you like what you see, head over to my content site and grab the stuff.

Les Blocs

Les Blocs

Les Blocs

If you don’t like my own crooked setups you might still want to give it a spin and create your own ones. I’ve already said that I’m not an architect and I’m well aware that my examples may be bordering on bad taste. ;-) Also some of it may look pretty far out, but is actually grounded in reality. That building with the red corrugated panels is for instance inspired by a similar building here in Leipzig at the Bio City complex. A web search will quickly find you some evidence photos. During the project I also got into that mode of studying buildings around me on my way to work and looked up additional references on the web. The diversity is simply overwhelming! You couldn’t recreate all those buildings in a lifetime if only you wanted to… I might try to do some of them one of those days and refine my techniques and work out some issues that I couldn’t resolve. It’s been an exhausting 3 weeks with literally every free minute spent on the project and for now I’ll have to do a few other things, but when I come up with something interesting I might add it to the model library.

