‘tssss ssssneaky – erm – ssssnakey

Another night, another day where I got up at 4 in the morning… No wonder I’m cranky as hell from all that lack of sleep. Since I was already up and about, I thought I put the time to good use and download and dabble around with the new version of Element 3D before that bloodsuckers at my doctor’s poke another hole in my veins. *ouch* Of course everyone will go crazy with the Metropolitan pack and soon enough we will be drowning in all sorts of rehashed cities ranging from Inception style openings to destructive The Avengers orgies, but the little cutie that is me of course has other things in mind that will put the new features to good use. Back then I had wanted to create an assortment of structured/ textured surfaces similar to that furry stuff, but didn’t quite know how to pull it off because there was no reasonable way to get a regular formation on any sort of contour. With the new layer grid emitter style this is now at least possible for flat planes, so this morning I hacked together a quick setup employing the technique. It still takes a bit of fiddling to get everything aligned, but this should open up some interesting possibilities, be it just all sorts of light/ LED grids on letters. Grab the file below.

Scales Text

Scales Text

