1 Comment

Let’s start the Week with some Flares Stuff…

If the download counts on my resources page are any indication, lens flares continue to be popular, as people still download the GenArts presets by the bucket. Somehow this feels odd to me, considering that everybody should have them by now and they aren’t that great, after all, but I guess people find them strangely useful or at least interesting, no matter what. A similar interest is still building around my lens flare comparison chart, and so you will be pleased that as I promised a couple of times I have now updated it. Boris FX have updated their offering in the meantime and added some new features that are worth noting, though this doesn’t really affect the overall order and scores. In addition I have corrected a few things that I seem to have jumbled up on those long afternoons and evenings during some copy&paste operations plus rephrased a few comments to make them more clear. With those corrections in place, the chart is now also freed of this restriction and printable in two flavors. As if that weren’t enough, I have also derived direct comparisons of any two of the commercial offerings, so by pairing them up it should be easier to judge their pros and cons if you need to make a buying decision. If you have further ideas or detect typos and inaccuracies, just drop me a line.

Lens Flare Factsheet  – full table A3 format

Lens Flare Factsheet  – full table A4 format

Lens Flare Factsheet  – direct comparison Optical Flares vs. Sapphire Lensflare

Lens Flare Factsheet  – direct comparison Optical Flares vs. Knoll Light Factory

Lens Flare Factsheet  – direct comparison Optical Flares vs. BCC Lensflare 3D

Lens Flare Factsheet  – direct comparison Sapphire Lensflare vs. Knoll Light Factory

Lens Flare Factsheet  – direct comparison Sapphire Lensflare vs. BCC Lensflare 3D

Lens Flare Factsheet  – direct comparison Knoll Light Factory vs. BCC Lensflare 3D

Lens Flare Factsheet  – Appendix

One comment on “Let’s start the Week with some Flares Stuff…

  1. Found your site doing a google search for poor performance on Knoll 3. Just installed it on a new iMac with the 680mx GPU. The performance was absolutely unusable. Fortunately I also picked up Optical Flares on a NAB special. The performance is amazing and I agree blows the others out of the water. Thanks for your post as well as the time you took to create those charts, very in-depth. I look forward to exploring your site.

Comments are closed.

