Geek Sunday

In the infinite dark, cavernous halls that is my brain there must be some dwarf having dug for rare minerals all those years and some time last week he must have accidentally hit my geek nerve. In what can only be considered a stroke of insanity (or stroke of genius?), I spent yesterday reinstating my After Effects Error Code Database. Oh my! Now I haven’t done anything on it in a year because back then I shut it down rather abruptly due to my ongoing health situation, but it was never really gone – not from the minds of people, not from my mind, either. The Excel chart I’ve been maintaining now has another 70 or so errors listed, give or take a few duplicates and a lot of other stuff needs to be updated as well. Mmhhh…

Elsewhere there isn’t much movement in the After Effects world. People seem amazingly lazy (or busy with testing CS7 and its new 3D space, Python support and all that, of course). That may also feature better ways of dealing with layers and while I don’t much care for layer timeline folders, saving complex stacks using Kevin‘s Layer Library is something that sounds like I might actually use it. You know, those Controller layers with their huge numbers of sliders for my expressions that I use all the time…. While there, I also saw this tool to create all sorts of boxes and cubes. Unfortunately it’s not free, so if you’re a little tight on money you might consider my old 3D primitives as a stopgap (with extra manual labour involved, of course) or give Mettle’s FreeForm Pro cubes/ dice a spin. Seeing that book cover on AEScripts actually reminded me that once I had started working on some pretty nice automated page curl/ magazine flip-through setup using FreeForm Pro. Maybe I’ll get it finished one of these days…

