Death simply is

With some interest I’ve been following the story on Tony Nicklinson. It may sound a bit morbid, but even before the onslaught of my illness I’ve been thinking about this life and death stuff quite a bit and even more so ever since I meet all sorts of cancer and what have you patients. Getting to the actual point: I for one am glad that he has now escaped more pointless suffering. Life is no longer life when you have no control over it. Now thanks to my treatment I’m luckily far from any immediate situation, but barely having escaped my level 3 Sarkoidosis going full red to level 4 (which almost inevitably would have menat me slowly turning into Darth Vader with a breather mask and all that) I kinda can feel the heat, as it were. Barring the occasional infection bordering on pneumonia I might still live to see retirement age, but should that ever happen with no chance of recovery and lying in a coma, I’m pretty sure I would rather prefer to go in peace rather than being propped up for anotehr 3 weeks in a futile attempt at sorting things out. Which reminds me that I really must get around to filling out those patient will forms and have my family do the same just in case… Seems that Tony Scott (younger brother to Ridley Scott) felt pretty much the same when he jumped that bridge after learning that his brain tumor was uncurable. Perhaps he could have waited a bit longer and involved his family and friends, but I guess it’s that old Alzheimer joke: Jump before you forget to do it! *lol* Still, I’d consider it a better solution than slowly turning into vegetables and being at the mercy of others. There’s that German movie called Halt auf freier Strecke showing exactly that and how frustrating it can be. Of course, on the other hand being surrounded by your loved ones may make parting easier and you could die a natural death, after all, but dunno, I’d hate to see everyone getting all wired up just because I’ll have to take a bow and leave. it always seems to me that the ones who are left behind have a bigger problem with all this stuff than the people actually dying and then it gets all into this cycle of everyone going crazy over it. I think the best way to put it for me is still that classic Babylon 5 quote regarding the Rangers:

There’s nothing to fear in death. Death simply is.

And yeah, strangely I do have a proclivity toward movies on the subject like Nokan or my recent review of Death of a Superhero, but that’s pure coincidence. They’re simply good movies!

