Mental-ly done!

As I was writing just this week, I’ve been testdriving M4D in order to make up my mind whether it would be a worthwile investment. Now that I have, I have come to the conclusion that it probably isn’t. The biggest disappointment in all that is iRay. It is nowhere near anything like what I’m used to from my other programs. Even on my new workstation at my work office it is slow and renders odd, which ultimately makes it useless for what I had hoped I would use it for. Granted, this may change at any point as the recent editions of Maya, XSI and MAX have just been announced and seem to have massive enhancements in that area, but it will no doubt take forever before any of this shows up in M4D. What also further influenced my decision is NVidia‘s move to no longer offer MentalMill. I’m not gonna pretend that it is essential and would have used it all the time, but since M4D is not node-based and does not give access to some deeper features in MentalRay this would have been the only option to add custom shaders. If you get my meaning: The whole point of using a "deep" system like this is to be able to get access to the tiniest screw – if and when you need it. So I guess I’ll try to make do with Cinema 4D‘s native renderers and just improve my tweaking skills. I’d still love to use MentalRay one day, but they really need to work out some of this stuff to make it worthwile for me.

