Lifted for Lift-Off

One of my dirty little secrets is that I always have had and still have a keen interest in military aviation (and scale aviation modeling) and in my downtimes at hospitals or doctors’ waiting rooms I have quite gotten back into reading pertinent literature. Thus I have been following the ongoing plight of the Joint Strike Fighter quite a bit. Now I’m not going into conceptual arguments about military/ government spending, as it always ends up like that memorable quote from the movie Contact ("First rule in government spending: why build one when you can have two at twice the price?") and the F-35 is an expensive piece of flying technology for sure, but I’m actually pleased to see the program move forward now. At least that way I’ll have something interesting to read for a while…

