To boldly send Money…

…where it has gone before?! Being a fan is indeed a bit weird – you easily spend money quite generously when you would fight over every penny if it were for something else. Now I’m definitely quite restraint and conservative in that regard, but I’ve had my share of spending on Star Trek paraphernalia over the years. Not at all those awful pulp novels nor some glue-on Vulcan ears or a Starfleet uniform, but at a time I had quite a few model kits of various of the spacecraft in my collection and I still have several unassembled vinyl figure kits stashed away, which I possibly won’t get around to assembling until I retire. In any case, aside from all this, I have contributed to Paramount‘s revenues more than once. I’ve watched every new movie when it came out in cinemas and then later also bought them on VHS cassettes and DVDs. I did very much the same for the various series and with regards to The Next Generation I must have bought it about 5 times – at least 3 different editions on tape (though, to be fair, I always was picky and did only buy the best episodes), then the original DVD collector’s boxes which I had to upgrade/ replace a while ago (due to bad manufacturing, the inner rings of the dual layer sandwich were not glued together strong enough and crumble) and now it would seem I’m gonna spend money a sixth time soon. Yes, finally, after all these years it’s coming to HD by ways of a BluRay release. The initial edition with just 4 episodes will of course only be a field test to probe the market whether people would be ready to buy the full series, but this shall be interesting, regardless. With The Inner Light, easily my absolutely favorite TNG episode among those four, I’m already getting excited. With that and also Battlestar Galactica being officially released on BluRay here in Germany I seriously need to think about getting one of those huge LCD screens and all the other stuff.

The whole thing is of course one hell of an experiment – must be quite a bit of work reworking a series that was pretty much ever only finished at SD resolutions and rebuilding everything from film transfers and making it look pretty. They’re just lucky that the series comes from a time where people still used motion control cameras, matte paintings and models, so they won’t have to do extensive new 3D animations stuff for the space and outdoor scenes as well, which will be a whole different matter if they ever move on to Deep Space Nine… Speaking of which, that HD stuff of course requires a ton of more or less specialized tools, at the very least a decent editing program, which somewhat inevitably also brings us back to that Final Cut Pro thing and Adobe trying to capitalize on the mess Apple made. As it would seem, users migrating to Premiere Pro may not be as persistent a move as some would hope. At least reading about some of the frustrations that makes some users go back to FCP put a slight grin on my face as it’s very much a reminder of the reasons why we still use Avid tools…

