Need more *zap*!

Today, while I was doing some off-site work at a client’s super-secret engineering compound, prepping CAD data for a visualization project, I once more realized that despite all technological advancements in computer technology we somehow live in a dark age because programs nowhere near are as evolved enough to take advantage of it. That not only became clear by the endless file opening/ loading times in a CAD program running mostly single-threaded and not even being able to max out a lame dual core processor, of course my favorite toy After Effects, which I was running on my 5 year old MacBook Pro to make the best of the waiting times. It’s funny how an expression driven project becomes really slow there when you still get reasonable performance on a more modern Core7i processor (even if the one I have already is 2 years old, also). Goes to show how much developers rely/ have relied on processors simply becoming faster and more efficient instead of changing their code. In defense of the After Effects team, though, I have to admit that only very few people will probably have code with 200 or more lines per property and having 10 of those on a layer, that then gets cloned – a lot – obeying dependencies with the other layers. I guess I’m at the point where I really need to learn writing plug-ins proper… Still, I wish it would at least split the processing across all cores. Until it will perhaps in CS6, the only solution seems to buy faster computers. Crikey! And of course on some level that CAD thing is also perfectly understandable – loading huge machinery consisting of sub-assemblies inside other sub-assemblies and components numbering in the thousands is no trivial matter and you’d want it to be as safe and reliable as possible, which very much means a linear loading pattern, but still, at least the on-screen drawing and rasterization could have been faster and used some multi-threading…

