Captain Industry!

I’ve actually been saving this post for those times when there is nothing else to report, but now that I’m here, I don’t quite know how and where to start. The movie I want to write about is just too good and I so thoroughly enjoyed it, I have to either write a few pages or only a very short note. anyway, let’s start with the essentials.

The movie’s title is Defendor and while the trailer makes it look like the same story we got in Kick-Ass (short review here), it’s not quite that. In fact it has much more depth then the other one so it’s even more surprising it never got a cinematic release here in Germany (I’m sure even many arthouse-y people would have enjoyed it as would mainstream viewers) and we had to wait for the DVD. But then again, they barely managed to now finally, 1 year late (effectively 2 years, as even the US release was a year after the Japanese), bring Ponyo to cinemas, so it’s not really a surprise and says a lot about the film distribution business. *crikey* It’s also a shame, since the film apparently only cost 3.5 million Canadian dollars to make and a wide release could have made a considerable revenue for any distributor. Well, I guess it simply eludes logic.

On the bright side, the movie has Woody Harrelson as the main hero. Admittedly, I never saw Natural Born Killers or White Men can’t jump, but I vividly remember him from the Larry Flynt movie and After the Sunset where he delivered both the comedic parts and the more serious side quite well. I’m not sure if it’s always the quality of his performance, but he just has that face… That also makes him a perfect fit for this latest outing – his gnarly nose and average guy face make you sympathize and help to convey the idea that this guy has it rough.

I will not give away too much of the story, but trust me, it’s hilarious. When I was watching the DVD, I more than once laughed loudly. The various attempts at being a superhero are just too wacky and funny to watch, but the film never makes the hero look ridiculous. Yes, he is a nut, but his heart is in the right place and he just wants to make the world a better place (and overcome his own demons), he just doesn’t understand it and doesn’t get along with what we call a normal life. This is also illustrated by the various small side stories interwoven into the main events. You just can’t do anything else but like the guy in his helplessness. The film is full of many of these little moments that make it worthwile watching over and over and I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

