South American Techno Crickets?

Some of the more interesting things in my life is always the arrival of some new Cirque du Soleil stuff. Yesterday I got the soundtrack CD for Ovo (incidentally pretty much about one year after the show was revealed last year) and after the usual dance of converting it via iTunes, having to scan the cover, because as usual it won’t appear at Apple‘s outlet for probably the next 3 months, and loading it onto my iPod, I listened to it while commuting to and back from work. I found myself thinking what a strange little piece it is. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it left me rather emotionless. But then again, today was a very rainy day which makes one less susceptible to Latin American music in general. Maybe on a sunny day the Samba and Tango inspired rhythms it will have more impact…

