Print is dead, long live InDesign?

Today is an odd anniversary for a product, that, while considerably younger than Photoshop, may be with us for a much shorter time in years to come. Yes, the talk is about InDesign. I turns 10, which is amazingly young for a print-centric program, but an eternity in the fast-lived realm of the internet. Conceived way back then as a competitor to QuarkXPress, the only halfway desktop layout program (until a year ago, I still had the v4 install diskettes and ADB dongle in my software safe at work) for years, InDesign has slowly but steadily eaten away from the market share and established itself firmly. That however may change soon, and honestly, I don’t know where the journey goes. Strangely, in recent years I have developed quite a love for good typography and print design and in some way it pains me to see some of that die off with electronic reading and always the same limited layouts and fonts. On the other hand, I always find myself hating the waste of paper when cleaning out my mail with all those fliers telling you where to buy cheap vegetables next week. It’s this thin line between both worlds that InDesign will have to walk and it has not yet proven that it can. It can do nice print stuff, yes, but everything it spits out for online use so far looks pretty *narf* in my opinion. That is, until you really think those Flash page turns make your day. There’s a lot of work to be done there.

