I know what I do, you fuck bitch!

Okay, last night I went out to the discotheque and they handed out free condoms again. Usually nothing too special, as they do that quite often around these parts, but this time they had some special touch to it. They came in some wrappers, that had a quite cleverly planned campaign motive on it. See the picture below:

Condoms

The brilliance of the whole thing is of course not apparently visible to non-Germans, but the line that reads Fickstück is actually a play on the word combination fuck bitch vs. fuck piece. See the connection? They also had other ones labeled Mach mich voll (Fill me up), but I failed to snatch one of them. I even like the violet colors.

And now to the important part: Of course there is a deeper meaning to the whole thing. The whole campaign for Ich weiss, was ich tu (I know what I do) is specifically targeted at gay men and of course meant to prevent AIDS, of course. I will not take the moral high ground and quote platitudes – I enjoy good sex as much as everyone else and without too much going into details, in the heat of the action it has happened to go without protection. Still, remember: it’s still fatal in the long run, if you get infected, no matter how much modern medicine prolongs your life, something which recent events around me unfortunately have me reminded me of in quite drastic ways. And if you think “What do I care, I’m straight.” – you should not feel safe, either. Too much can happen when you’re drunk 4 o’clock in the morning after winding down from a long day at NAB or whatever other tradeshows we “serious” people usually hang around….

